Nomination Process 2024:

Nominations deadline on 30 April 2024.

The IASSA Honorary Lifetime Membership Award, the Gabriella Nordin-Sköld IASSA Service Award, and the Victoria Petrasheva Award acknowledges exemplary contributions, both academic and service oriented, to the Arctic Social Sciences and Humanities. Read more about the awards here: IASSA Awards

Multiple awards are possible.

Nominations may be submitted to the IASSA Secretariat by IASSA members at any time prior to the deadline of 30 April 2024. Nominators must be IASSA members (the person nominated for the Award does not necessarily have to be a member).

The IASSA Council serves as the adjudicating committee for the IASSA Honorary Lifetime Membership Award and Gabriella Nordin-Sköld IASSA Service Award.

Forms for writing nominations:

Click on the links below to download the forms for writing your nomination (opens in new window):

Nomination form: IASSA Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

Nomination form: Gabriella Nordin-Sköld IASSA Service Award

There is a separate form and committee for the Victoria Petrasheva Award, see below.

Specific to Victoria Petrasheva Award: 

Selection process

The selection committee will evaluate the nominations based on the following criteria: 

  • The nominee is an Indigenous early career scholar; 
  • Their research work aligns with the award values and principles; 
  • Their research provides important contribution for strengthening the well-being of Indigenous peoples of the Arctic; 
  • Their research is a comprehensive study that looks at the given topic from diverse angles. 

Award committee

The award committee for the second Nmitqǝn Award to the Outstanding Early Career Indigenous Scholar in honour of Victoria Petrasheva to be awarded during the Arctic Congress Bodø 2024 (ICASS XI) consists of:

Tatiana Degai
Roza Laptander
Alona Yefimenko
Britt Kramvig

Form for writing nomination: 

Click on the link below to download the form for writing your nomination (opens in new window):

Nomination form: Nmitqǝn Award to the Outstanding Early Career Indigenous Scholar in honor of Victoria Petrasheva


Nomination Package

We welcome nominations from the Arctic communities of knowledge holders and scholars. 

More information about the award and nomination process here (opens in new tab):
Victoria Petrasheva Award

The letter of nomination must provide a succinct rationale for the nomination, and be accompanied by an electronic version of a current curriculum vitae. The nomination must be signed by three IASSA members. The letter of nomination (2 pages max), signature page, and curriculum vitae of the nominee should be sent as an e-mail attachment (Pdf) to the IASSA Secretariat (). Electronic signatures will be accepted.

Nominations for the next award (to be presented at ICASS XI) must be received electronically by the IASSA Secretary by 30 April 2024. 



Contact Information

IASSA Secretariat

Nord University
Universitetsalleen 11
P.o. Box 1490
8049 BODØ

Phone:  +47 75 51 79 91

Contact information



Information on previous IASSA Secretariats can be found at the IASSA history page.


> IASSA mailing list

> Arctic links of interest

> IASSA working groups

Designed and hosted by Arctic Portal


  • Association of Polar Early Career Scientists
  • University of the Arctic
  • International Arctic Science Committee